Tampa Chapter’s Mission 

The mission of Florida A & M University National Alumni Association, Inc. (NAA) is to participate, as a partner, with the University in supporting the University's continued success through student recruitment, alumni retention and expansion, financial support, public relations and community outreach.

Our Goals

Increase our overall membership to become the largest financial chapter in FAMU NAA

  • Increase our life membership by 25 new members over the next 5 years

  • Establish an endowed scholarship in the name of the Tampa Chapter

  • Raise $250,000 in scholarship contributions over the next 5 years to support students from the Tampa Bay Area.

  • Have fun while bringing Rattlers together in Tampa 


With your support and God’s blessings, I will do everything in my power to make our chapter goals come true.


Forever Rattlin,

President Wendell L. Duggins, PMP

Our History

In 1948 a group of FAMU Alumni started a chapter in the city of Tampa. Initially, the Tampa Chapter was part of the Southeastern Region which included chapters in the state of Georgia. As the Tampa Chapter grew, so did the number of alumni chapters in the state of Florida.

                                   1940                 1948                1956                1964                1972                1980   1984                  1988

Our Presidents

1. Everett Holt

2. John Lockhart

3. James “FAMCEE” Hargrett

4. James “Big Jim” Williams

5. Abraham “Abe” Brown

6. Littleton Long

7. George Davis

8. Dale Green

9. Dorothy Reed

10. Henry Stokes, Jr.

11. Leon McComb

12. Norris Collins

13. Phillip Austin

14. James Green, Jr.

15. Marvin Frazier

16. Theodore Scott, Jr.

17. Loretta Anderson

18. Mary White Darby

19. Jackie Hearns

20. Wendell Duggins

In 1984 we became members of the newly formed Florida Region which included 27 Florida cities. The Tampa Chapter continues to be rich in history as being the only FAMU NAA chapter currently having a past university president, Dr. Walter L. Smith, the 7th president and past president of the NAA, Dr. Carolyn Collins, the first female president, as members of our chapter. The Tampa Chapter has recruited and directed thousands of high school students to continue their education at FAMU.

Surrounding FAMU Alumni Chapters
Sarasota-Manatee Chapter


Saint Petersburg

No website


Fort Myers

No Website

We’d love to hear from you!

FAMU NAA Tampa Bay Chapter | P. O. Box 11503 Tampa, Florida 33680 | info@FAMUAlumniTampaBay.org

Tel: (813)-238-7235 

Success! Message received.